Image

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review
7 days ago

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review

By  • 

Here I am reviewing Star Trek Discovery nine weeks after it first premiered. It’s taken all nine of those episodes for me to figure out where my feelings stand with this series.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review
5 months ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review

By  • 

I’m a big fan of superheroes, but I can’t ignore the genre’s most egregious forms of repetition. The writers of Spider-Man Homecoming couldn’t ignore them either, and their movie is …
Read More

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review
8.3
6 months ago

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review

By  • 

There is a moment very early on in Breath of the Wild where Nintendo hooks you on the promise of what the game offers. The beginning is slow-paced; your standard exercise of tutorials on basic controls and mechanics.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames
8 months ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames

By  • 

Even after the decades that have passed, hearing someone scream “It’s morphing time” still feels special. The Power Rangers series that aired in the 1990s receives a lot of credit for being a cultural icon. It was, but describing it as that leaves so much nuance out. To a generation of kids that didn’t have much else to watch and didn’t have parents to let them in after school, the Power Rangers were a morality play. Here were five teenagers from a nowhere town that looked like you and talked like you. They got good grades and battled monsters. Here was this world that was fair, just and understanding
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review
9 months ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review

By  • 

Speaking from personal experience, now is an awkward time to be an African American. In my lifetime, race shed its 1,000-pound gorilla suit. It’s a slow stalking predator these days, an always-present, but seldom talked about reality. For reasons related to white houses and riots, it’s back at the forefront and ripe for exploration in culture. Take Get Out for instance.
Read More

Planet Coaster review
8.8
12 months ago

Planet Coaster review

By  • 

Frontier Developments’ Planet Coaster for Windows PCs is the best theme park game available right now, maybe even ever.
Read More

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review
1 year ago

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review

By  • 

A movie set in the same magical world as Harry Potter, but without Harry Potter himself. If you’d have asked me whether that was a good idea five years ago, I would have said it was crazy. Actually, I would have asked, “are you nuts?” Then I’d have remembered the disaster that was Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and remembered anything is possible when you’re dealing with Warner Brothers Pictures. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, arrived at movies theaters this week. I’d be lying if I said that this movie wasn’t my must-see motion picture of the year.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review

By  • 

Heroes are masters of the impossible. They can go anywhere and do anything. If that’s the definition of a super hero in its purest form, than Marvel Studios itself may very well have transcended our existence. Every year they’ve delivered movies that capture the imagination and rake in more ticket sales than the films before it. That they risked their sterling reputation for Doctor Strange honestly blows my mind.
Read More

Top