Image

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames
2 days ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames

By  • 

Even after the decades that have passed, hearing someone scream “It’s morphing time” still feels special. The Power Rangers series that aired in the 1990s receives a lot of credit for being a cultural icon. It was, but describing it as that leaves so much nuance out. To a generation of kids that didn’t have much else to watch and didn’t have parents to let them in after school, the Power Rangers were a morality play. Here were five teenagers from a nowhere town that looked like you and talked like you. They got good grades and battled monsters. Here was this world that was fair, just and understanding
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review
3 weeks ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review

By  • 

Speaking from personal experience, now is an awkward time to be an African American. In my lifetime, race shed its 1,000-pound gorilla suit. It’s a slow stalking predator these days, an always-present, but seldom talked about reality. For reasons related to white houses and riots, it’s back at the forefront and ripe for exploration in culture. Take Get Out for instance.
Read More

Planet Coaster review
8.8
4 months ago

Planet Coaster review

By  • 

Frontier Developments’ Planet Coaster for Windows PCs is the best theme park game available right now, maybe even ever.
Read More

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review
4 months ago

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review

By  • 

A movie set in the same magical world as Harry Potter, but without Harry Potter himself. If you’d have asked me whether that was a good idea five years ago, I would have said it was crazy. Actually, I would have asked, “are you nuts?” Then I’d have remembered the disaster that was Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and remembered anything is possible when you’re dealing with Warner Brothers Pictures. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, arrived at movies theaters this week. I’d be lying if I said that this movie wasn’t my must-see motion picture of the year.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review
5 months ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review

By  • 

Heroes are masters of the impossible. They can go anywhere and do anything. If that’s the definition of a super hero in its purest form, than Marvel Studios itself may very well have transcended our existence. Every year they’ve delivered movies that capture the imagination and rake in more ticket sales than the films before it. That they risked their sterling reputation for Doctor Strange honestly blows my mind.
Read More

Star Trek Beyond review
8 months ago

Star Trek Beyond review

By  • 

After saving the soul of Starfleet last time, the crew of the Enterprise successfully manage to save the pretty busted narrative of Star Trek Beyond.
Read More

The Division review
8.6
11 months ago

The Division review

By  • 

I’d like to thank that my stance on the act of purchasing a game hasn’t changed. Buying a piece of entertainment as expensive as a video game takes daring. What if the game is terrible? What if you don’t like it? Heavy gamers are all into buying every new title that comes along. The industry sometimes forgets that most people purchase a few games in a year, not every major release that makes it to store shelves. It’s for that reason that I worried about Ubisoft’s The Division.
Read More

‘Halo 5: Guardians’ review
9
1 year ago

‘Halo 5: Guardians’ review

By  •  In General

Whoever said that Microsoft’s 343 Industries didn’t have anything to prove following the successful launch of Halo 4 was kidding themselves. Halo 4 didn’t bring Microsoft’s flagship gaming franchise to its knees with glitches and multiplayer failures. It wasn’t a highlight though. Today, three years after the game’s launch, I can say with some certainty that it was my least favorite game to date.
Read More

Top