Image

EA Access on Xbox One review

EA Access on Xbox One review
6.8
5 months ago

EA Access on Xbox One review

By  • 

All the digital games that you can download, that’s what video game publisher Electronic Arts is promising when it attempts to lure users into its EA Access subscription service. I’ve heard it described casually as Netflix for video games, but too many things get that description for it to be of any use, I think. Either a video plays or it doesn’t. Video games are more complicated than that. With EA Access on Xbox One, you get to play dozens of games without buying them separately. I went into it thinking that this was the service’s main appeal.
Read More

Groove Music for Windows 10 review 2016
7.5
1 year ago

Groove Music for Windows 10 review 2016

By  • 

“Another year gone.” That’s how Professor Albus Dumbledore began the last scene in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. A year has passed since Microsoft introduced yet another iteration of Groove Music, the music service that it’s offered under no less than three different brand names in the last ten years. Those prior names include Zune. Perhaps it’s fate but this October marks 10 years since Microsoft first introduced Zune.
Read More

Sony PlayStation Vue review
8.5
1 year ago

Sony PlayStation Vue review

By  • 

Admittedly, my resume with streaming services reads like a case study for potential PlayStation Vue subscribers.
Read More

Groove Music for Windows 10 review: An Old Flame with a New Start
7
2 years ago

Groove Music for Windows 10 review: An Old Flame with a New Start

By  • 

Microsoft’s Groove Music app is the only way to listen to music and Microsoft’s subscription service in Windows 10. Fortunately, it’s decent enough.
Read More

Sling TV on Xbox One Review
7
2 years ago

Sling TV on Xbox One Review

By  •  In General

I can’t remember the first time I heard a media critic or television personality talk about television lovers cutting the cord. I can remember planning to move to my first apartment and deciding I wouldn’t get cable. To be clear, this wasn’t some self-righteous decision to be different or lead the charge in some direction. I couldn’t afford the extra expense. Now I sit here, able to stream live television across the internet directly to my television using Sling TV on Xbox One.
Read More

Xbox Music on Android Review
4
3 years ago

Xbox Music on Android Review

By  • 

Way back when Microsoft’s music platform still sported orange and magenta as accent colors instead of green and Xbox Music was still Zune; users had a choice to make. Back then, before Spotify, before the iPod Touch and the Samsung Galaxy S4, there was Zune Music Pass. With it users could download an unlimited amount of songs, listen to them even when they didn’t have an internet connection and share them with their friends through Zune Social. Zune is gone and it’s never coming back, but in its place we have Xbox Music apps and smartphones than run them like the Galaxy S4.
Read More

Xbox Music on iPhone Review
3.6
3 years ago

Xbox Music on iPhone Review

By  • 

Xbox Music Pass, the service that allows users to pay Microsoft $9.99 a month for access to millions of songs, has had a rough couple of years.
Read More

Review: Xbox One – Gaming
6.3
4 years ago

Review: Xbox One – Gaming

By  • 

Emboldened by usage statistics for its Xbox 360 console, Microsoft set out to make the Xbox One the ultimate entertainment system for all types of media. Did it forget about gamers in the process?
Read More

Top