Image
Movies, music, Microsoft and Xbox. Travis Pope is The en. Your digital life connected.

Reviews | Recently published

8

Worth Trying

In General

CBS All Access Review: Is It Worth Buying?

By  •  2 months ago

Did I think I’d be writing a CBS All Access review in 2018 and declaring it one of the services I can’t live without? No, I didn’t. Somewhere CBS chief Les Moonves is chuckling as he looks over its subscriber numbers and quietly muttering to himself, “Got ‘em.”
Read More

Reviews | The latest games & gadget reviews from The en.

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review
2 years ago

Saturday Night at the Movies: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them review

By  • 

A movie set in the same magical world as Harry Potter, but without Harry Potter himself. If you’d have asked me whether that was a good idea five years ago, I would have said it was crazy. Actually, I would have asked, “are you nuts?” Then I’d have remembered the disaster that was Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and remembered anything is possible when you’re dealing with Warner Brothers Pictures. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, arrived at movies theaters this week. I’d be lying if I said that this movie wasn’t my must-see motion picture of the year.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review
2 years ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Doctor Strange review

By  • 

Heroes are masters of the impossible. They can go anywhere and do anything. If that’s the definition of a super hero in its purest form, than Marvel Studios itself may very well have transcended our existence. Every year they’ve delivered movies that capture the imagination and rake in more ticket sales than the films before it. That they risked their sterling reputation for Doctor Strange honestly blows my mind.
Read More

Xbox on Your PC: An Xbox Play Anywhere review
2 years ago

Xbox on Your PC: An Xbox Play Anywhere review

By  • 

Long on promises and short on delivery, I’ve looked on with amazement for years as Microsoft failed to deliver on PC gaming initiatives and getting its product groups to work together. No offense to the hard working people in Redmond, but the company’s failure in PC gaming are hard to forget. First there was Games for Windows Live, then there was the second coming of Games for Windows Live. Then Microsoft rolled out Xbox Live achievements to casual games in Windows 8. Early in the spring, the company mentioned that it had another plan to alter its fortunes in PC gaming. It’s called the initiative Xbox Play Anywhere.
Read More

Xbox Design Lab Controller review
9
2 years ago

Xbox Design Lab Controller review

By  • 

The world of technology is populated by black boxes and slick brushed metal. One of the few exceptions to this rule are video game consoles. Meant to disappear into your setup, they’re almost always black and rather dull looking. With everyone buying all the same things, it’s hard to feel like an individual, like you purchased something cool and made it your own. Xbox Design Lab controllers are the answer to what ails us. At the website turned digital boutique, you can customize the current version of the Xbox Wireless Controller.
Read More

Groove Music for Windows 10 review 2016
7.5
2 years ago

Groove Music for Windows 10 review 2016

By  • 

“Another year gone.” That’s how Professor Albus Dumbledore began the last scene in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. A year has passed since Microsoft introduced yet another iteration of Groove Music, the music service that it’s offered under no less than three different brand names in the last ten years. Those prior names include Zune. Perhaps it’s fate but this October marks 10 years since Microsoft first introduced Zune.
Read More

Xbox One S review
8.3
2 years ago

Xbox One S review

By  • 

Every person that invests their money in technology holds a secret shame. No matter what we tell you, never believe that we don’t want to upgrade to the latest and greatest devices. If there’s a new iPhone with more storage and a better camera, we wish we had it. If there’s a new Xbox One with tweaked performance and a better design, you better believe we’ll buy it. I told everyone I wouldn’t be buying Microsoft’s Xbox One S.
Read More

Star Trek Beyond review
2 years ago

Star Trek Beyond review

By  • 

After saving the soul of Starfleet last time, the crew of the Enterprise successfully manage to save the pretty busted narrative of Star Trek Beyond.
Read More

The Division review
8.6
2 years ago

The Division review

By  • 

I’d like to thank that my stance on the act of purchasing a game hasn’t changed. Buying a piece of entertainment as expensive as a video game takes daring. What if the game is terrible? What if you don’t like it? Heavy gamers are all into buying every new title that comes along. The industry sometimes forgets that most people purchase a few games in a year, not every major release that makes it to store shelves. It’s for that reason that I worried about Ubisoft’s The Division.
Read More

Sony PlayStation Vue review
8.5
2 years ago

Sony PlayStation Vue review

By  • 

Admittedly, my resume with streaming services reads like a case study for potential PlayStation Vue subscribers.
Read More

Xbox Elite Controller review
9
2 years ago

Xbox Elite Controller review

By  • 

Microsoft’s Xbox Elite Controller just might very well be the best game controller ever created for a console or a PC.
Read More

Microsoft Surface Pro 4 with Intel Core M3 review
7.2
3 years ago

Microsoft Surface Pro 4 with Intel Core M3 review

By  •  In General

When some hot piece of new technology arrives, everyone is quick to either sing its praises or tear it down. That’s the nature of technology and culture. If we aren’t collectively enhancing its mythos, we’re collective pointing out its flaws. Sometimes we do both at the same time. By the time we get a device like the Surface Pro 4, it’s usually the praise that dominates the landscape.
Read More

Xbox Wireless Adapter review
8.5
3 years ago

Xbox Wireless Adapter review

By  •  In General

Microsoft has said that it’s getting its act together in PC gaming on no less than three separate occasions. The third time, no one believed them. Really, after the disaster that was Games for Windows Live, I’m not sure they believed it themselves. If Microsoft wanted to be taken seriously in console game it had to actually deliver on its promises to treat the PC like a first-class citizen in its ecosystem. It’s with that in mind that you can truly appreciate the small wonder that is the Xbox Wireless Adapter. I know, I never thought Microsoft would do the obvious and provide accessory support for gaming on Windows.
Read More

‘Halo 5: Guardians’ review
9
3 years ago

‘Halo 5: Guardians’ review

By  •  In General

Whoever said that Microsoft’s 343 Industries didn’t have anything to prove following the successful launch of Halo 4 was kidding themselves. Halo 4 didn’t bring Microsoft’s flagship gaming franchise to its knees with glitches and multiplayer failures. It wasn’t a highlight though. Today, three years after the game’s launch, I can say with some certainty that it was my least favorite game to date.
Read More

Disney Infinity 3.0 review
7.6
3 years ago

Disney Infinity 3.0 review

By  •  In General

Games that are toys. For years, adults have tried to convince adults younger than themselves that the games they play are immature, digital toys that they should’ve grown out of by the time they’re able to spend their own money on them. Despite the influence of my slightly rigid girlfriend, I’m happy to say that digital toys or not, I play more games now than I ever did as a kid. That same girlfriend watched as I played Disney Infinity 3.0 for Microsoft’s Xbox One console for the first time.
Read More

Groove Music for Windows 10 review: An Old Flame with a New Start
7
3 years ago

Groove Music for Windows 10 review: An Old Flame with a New Start

By  • 

Microsoft’s Groove Music app is the only way to listen to music and Microsoft’s subscription service in Windows 10. Fortunately, it’s decent enough.
Read More

Videos | First looks, reviews and trailers for games, hardware, apps and entertainment services