Image
Movies, music, Microsoft and Xbox. Travis Pope is The en. Your digital life connected.

Reviews | Recently published

8

Worth Trying

In General

CBS All Access Review: Is It Worth Buying?

By  •  2 months ago

Did I think I’d be writing a CBS All Access review in 2018 and declaring it one of the services I can’t live without? No, I didn’t. Somewhere CBS chief Les Moonves is chuckling as he looks over its subscriber numbers and quietly muttering to himself, “Got ‘em.”
Read More

Reviews | The latest games & gadget reviews from The en.

Batman Arkham Knight review
9.2
3 years ago

Batman Arkham Knight review

By  •  In General

It’s surprisingly hard for me to remember why I first fell in love with Rocksteady’s Batman series of games. I do remember that the first in the franchise, Batman: Arkham Asylum, came at a pivotal time for me gaming wise. I’d purchased an Xbox 360 purely to play Star Trek Legacy and the game was an epic joke. I downloaded the demo of Arkham Asylum and instantly knew I’d found “my” series; my game that I’d keep coming back to over and over. I approached the release of Batman: Arkham Knight not unlike everyone else. Ridiculously excited and a tad bit nervous.
Read More

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 955Q Digital TV Tuner for Xbox One Review
7.8
3 years ago

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 955Q Digital TV Tuner for Xbox One Review

By  •  In General

Microsoft’s Xbox One began life as an entertainment console. The company’s initial marketing tools pointing to the console being the best place for all kinds of entertainment, the one place that the entire family could turn to for the latest video games, music and live television. Today, the Xbox One is still great for all of those things, but Microsoft has chosen not to place a special emphasis on that. The Hauppauge Digital TV Tuner for Xbox One’s release is made more interesting by Microsoft’s complete silence in the entertainment front.
Read More

Dragon Age: Inquisition review
7.6
3 years ago

Dragon Age: Inquisition review

By  • 

I’m inclined to believe that the only thing more daunting than finishing a massive role-playing game like Dragon Age: Inquisition is creating one. I’m not a video game developer per se, but what understanding I have of the process forces me to conclude that any role-playing game involves balancing competing priorities.
Read More

Xbox One Media Remote Review
8
3 years ago

Xbox One Media Remote Review

By  • 

There ought to be a place where recovering addicts who’ve abused the Xbox One’s media integration could go and talk about their problems. In theory, people in attendance would sit with their legs folded in a circle and discuss a time in which they actually did know individual channel numbers and didn’t spend time fondling a bulky controller or yelling, “Xbox, OneGuide.”
Read More

Kinect PDP Mount Review
6
3 years ago

Kinect PDP Mount Review

By  •  In General

We all get wrapped up in the hype surrounding advancements in entertainment and technology. Most of us just know that purchasing this one new thing, this new idea that’s never been done right will change our lives. A lot of time that’s not what happens. We buy these things and we forget the most important parts of the equation. For smartphones, it’s all about that applications you can load onto it. For Microsoft’s Xbox One, I’d argue it’s all about the software features and the Kinect for Xbox One sensor.
Read More

Sling TV on Xbox One Review
7
3 years ago

Sling TV on Xbox One Review

By  •  In General

I can’t remember the first time I heard a media critic or television personality talk about television lovers cutting the cord. I can remember planning to move to my first apartment and deciding I wouldn’t get cable. To be clear, this wasn’t some self-righteous decision to be different or lead the charge in some direction. I couldn’t afford the extra expense. Now I sit here, able to stream live television across the internet directly to my television using Sling TV on Xbox One.
Read More

Assassin’s Creed Unity Review
7.4
4 years ago

Assassin’s Creed Unity Review

By  • 

There are some game developers who pray that their games are controversial. There’s a certain kind of gravitas that comes along with being the title everyone is talking about and falling over each other to cover. With as much as it costs to produce a game these days, you don’t want to be on the front page of websites and news magazines; you need to be on the front page of websites and news magazines. That is, unless you’re getting the type of press Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed Unity is.
Read More

Surface Pro 3 Review
7.6
4 years ago

Surface Pro 3 Review

By  • 

The history of Microsoft’s efforts in actual hardware reads like a rags to riches story. Obviously, what happened with the Zune portable media players represents the rags. Zunes were amazing, but in some ways they completely missed the mark. Certainly, they arrived way too late. The Surface Pro 3 is full of promise, arrived early enough in the 2-in-1 craze to be viable and is considered in some circles to be one of the best Windows machines on the market. If you believe Microsoft’s television ads, there is the MacBook Air and the Surface Pro 3. Nothing else.
Read More

Xbox Music on Android Review
4
4 years ago

Xbox Music on Android Review

By  • 

Way back when Microsoft’s music platform still sported orange and magenta as accent colors instead of green and Xbox Music was still Zune; users had a choice to make. Back then, before Spotify, before the iPod Touch and the Samsung Galaxy S4, there was Zune Music Pass. With it users could download an unlimited amount of songs, listen to them even when they didn’t have an internet connection and share them with their friends through Zune Social. Zune is gone and it’s never coming back, but in its place we have Xbox Music apps and smartphones than run them like the Galaxy S4.
Read More

Watch Dogs Review
7.6
4 years ago

Watch Dogs Review

By  • 

Game delays happen. They always have and they always will. Those of us who closely follow the industry know that this is never going to change. When it happened to Watch Dogs for the Xbox One and Xbox 360 gamers who were looking forward to snatching up the game for the holiday season were livid.
Read More

Xbox Music on iPhone Review
3.6
4 years ago

Xbox Music on iPhone Review

By  • 

Xbox Music Pass, the service that allows users to pay Microsoft $9.99 a month for access to millions of songs, has had a rough couple of years.
Read More

Ear Force XO Four Headset Review
8
4 years ago

Ear Force XO Four Headset Review

By  • 

Video gaming, is a strange hobby. All at once there’s this almost primitive urge to save as much money as you possible can so that you might be able to pour it into purchasing more exclusive titles. At that same time, to enjoy gaming you must have the basics, accessories that you need to get the most out of your play experience. With the Xbox One, like very other game console before it, users won’t to be immersed in the experience and that’s why the spend money that they’d normally be saving for games on headphones like Turtle Beach’s Ear For XO Four headset for Microsoft’s Xbox One console.
Read More

Review: Titanfall for Xbox One
7.6
4 years ago

Review: Titanfall for Xbox One

By  • 

Titanfall is the best game you can play on the Xbox One right now. No, how about Titanfall is the best multiplayer experience that can be had on any console?
Read More

Review: Madden NFL 25
7
5 years ago

Review: Madden NFL 25

By  • 

It’s not that I don’t like sports games. Sure, I’ve always thought that sports watchers learning the first and last name of the entire league’s roster is a bit much. On the other hand, I respect the nature of sports-based video game franchises. I’ve always had an appreciation for the dedication it takes to deliver a hard-core sports fans experience, year after year. So when Madden NFL 25 blitzed our review timeline I had to volunteer.
Read More

Review: Xbox One – Gaming
6.3
5 years ago

Review: Xbox One – Gaming

By  • 

Emboldened by usage statistics for its Xbox 360 console, Microsoft set out to make the Xbox One the ultimate entertainment system for all types of media. Did it forget about gamers in the process?
Read More

Videos | First looks, reviews and trailers for games, hardware, apps and entertainment services