Image
Movies, music, Microsoft and Xbox. Travis Pope is The en. Your digital life connected.

At the Movies: Avengers Infinity War review

At the Movies: Avengers Infinity War review
4 months ago

At the Movies: Avengers Infinity War review

By  • 

I don’t think I’ve ever been as nervous to pen anything as I was this Avengers Infinity War review.
Read More

At the Movies: Black Panther review
6 months ago

At the Movies: Black Panther review

By  • 

“Give you a clue who could do this to you? The kid on the block that makes less money than you.” Pras of The Fugees said that in 1990s, and that quote was something I kept coming back to as I wrote this Black Panther review.
Read More

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review
9 months ago

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review

By  • 

Here I am reviewing Star Trek Discovery nine weeks after it first premiered. It’s taken all nine of those episodes for me to figure out where my feelings stand with this series.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review

By  • 

I’m a big fan of superheroes, but I can’t ignore the genre’s most egregious forms of repetition. The writers of Spider-Man Homecoming couldn’t ignore them either, and their movie is a solid storytelling experience for that reason, I think.
Read More

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review
8.3
1 year ago

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review

By  • 

There is a moment very early on in Breath of the Wild where Nintendo hooks you on the promise of what the game offers. The beginning is slow-paced; your standard exercise of tutorials on basic controls and mechanics.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames

By  • 

Even after the decades that have passed, hearing someone scream “It’s morphing time” still feels special. The Power Rangers series that aired in the 1990s receives a lot of credit for being a cultural icon. It was, but describing it as that leaves so much nuance out. To a generation of kids that didn’t have much else to watch and didn’t have parents to let them in after school, the Power Rangers were a morality play. Here were five teenagers from a nowhere town that looked like you and talked like you. They got good grades and battled monsters. Here was this world that was fair, just and understanding
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review

By  • 

Speaking from personal experience, now is an awkward time to be an African American. In my lifetime, race shed its 1,000-pound gorilla suit. It’s a slow stalking predator these days, an always-present, but seldom talked about reality. For reasons related to white houses and riots, it’s back at the forefront and ripe for exploration in culture. Take Get Out for instance.
Read More

Planet Coaster review
8.8
2 years ago

Planet Coaster review

By  • 

Frontier Developments’ Planet Coaster for Windows PCs is the best theme park game available right now, maybe even ever.
Read More

Top