Image
Movies, music, Microsoft and Xbox. Travis Pope is The en. Your digital life connected.

Reviews | Recently published

8

Worth Trying

In General

CBS All Access Review: Is It Worth Buying?

By  •  1 month ago

Did I think I’d be writing a CBS All Access review in 2018 and declaring it one of the services I can’t live without? No, I didn’t. Somewhere CBS chief Les Moonves is chuckling as he looks over its subscriber numbers and quietly muttering to himself, “Got ‘em.”
Read More

Reviews | The latest games & gadget reviews from The en.

CBS All Access Review: Is It Worth Buying?
8
1 month ago

CBS All Access Review: Is It Worth Buying?

By  •  In General

Did I think I’d be writing a CBS All Access review in 2018 and declaring it one of the services I can’t live without? No, I didn’t. Somewhere CBS chief Les Moonves is chuckling as he looks over its subscriber numbers and quietly muttering to himself, “Got ‘em.”
Read More

Samsung Gear IconX 2018 review
6.8
2 months ago

Samsung Gear IconX 2018 review

By  •  In General

If your phone lacks a headphone jack or you hate wires, the Samsung Gear IconX 2018 might be the best headphones you can buy.
Read More

At the Movies: Avengers Infinity War review
2 months ago

At the Movies: Avengers Infinity War review

By  • 

I don’t think I’ve ever been as nervous to pen anything as I was this Avengers Infinity War review.
Read More

2017 Surface Pro with Core i5 Review
7
2 months ago

2017 Surface Pro with Core i5 Review

By  • 

Like a fine wine, groundbreaking PCs should get better with age. I’m still not sure that’s true of Microsoft’s 2017 Surface Pro, and I have owned one for months.
Read More

At the Movies: Black Panther review
4 months ago

At the Movies: Black Panther review

By  • 

“Give you a clue who could do this to you? The kid on the block that makes less money than you.” Pras of The Fugees said that in 1990s, and that quote was something I kept coming back to as I wrote this Black Panther review.
Read More

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review
7 months ago

What’s On: Star Trek Discovery review

By  • 

Here I am reviewing Star Trek Discovery nine weeks after it first premiered. It’s taken all nine of those episodes for me to figure out where my feelings stand with this series.
Read More

Destiny 2 review
8
9 months ago

Destiny 2 review

By  • 

After spending well over 50 hours with Destiny 2, Bungie has made a sequel that shows off a slick, polished version of the product they released in 2014. Unfortunately, it also shares some of its frustrations.
Read More

12.9-inch iPad Pro review: It’s Personal
8.4
9 months ago

12.9-inch iPad Pro review: It’s Personal

By  • 

The 12.9-Inch iPad Pro is almost every bit the productivity tablet that Microsoft’s Surface Pro is, and that should have Microsoft very worried.
Read More

Nintendo Switch review
8.2
9 months ago

Nintendo Switch review

By  • 

Boring gaming consoles can offer the best experiences of your life. In this Nintendo Switch review, Julio reveals why Nintendo’s new console is amongst the best gaming consoles you can buy.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review
12 months ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Spider-Man Homecoming review

By  • 

I’m a big fan of superheroes, but I can’t ignore the genre’s most egregious forms of repetition. The writers of Spider-Man Homecoming couldn’t ignore them either, and their movie is …
Read More

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review
8.3
1 year ago

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review

By  • 

There is a moment very early on in Breath of the Wild where Nintendo hooks you on the promise of what the game offers. The beginning is slow-paced; your standard exercise of tutorials on basic controls and mechanics.
Read More

EA Access on Xbox One review
6.8
1 year ago

EA Access on Xbox One review

By  • 

All the digital games that you can download, that’s what video game publisher Electronic Arts is promising when it attempts to lure users into its EA Access subscription service. I’ve heard it described casually as Netflix for video games, but too many things get that description for it to be of any use, I think. Either a video plays or it doesn’t. Video games are more complicated than that. With EA Access on Xbox One, you get to play dozens of games without buying them separately. I went into it thinking that this was the service’s main appeal.
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: The ‘Power Rangers’ movie is flames

By  • 

Even after the decades that have passed, hearing someone scream “It’s morphing time” still feels special. The Power Rangers series that aired in the 1990s receives a lot of credit for being a cultural icon. It was, but describing it as that leaves so much nuance out. To a generation of kids that didn’t have much else to watch and didn’t have parents to let them in after school, the Power Rangers were a morality play. Here were five teenagers from a nowhere town that looked like you and talked like you. They got good grades and battled monsters. Here was this world that was fair, just and understanding
Read More

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review
1 year ago

Saturday Night @ the Movies: Get Out review

By  • 

Speaking from personal experience, now is an awkward time to be an African American. In my lifetime, race shed its 1,000-pound gorilla suit. It’s a slow stalking predator these days, an always-present, but seldom talked about reality. For reasons related to white houses and riots, it’s back at the forefront and ripe for exploration in culture. Take Get Out for instance.
Read More

Planet Coaster review
8.8
2 years ago

Planet Coaster review

By  • 

Frontier Developments’ Planet Coaster for Windows PCs is the best theme park game available right now, maybe even ever.
Read More

Videos | First looks, reviews and trailers for games, hardware, apps and entertainment services